Facebook is a wonderful tool for communication and that makes it equally useful for businesses to interact with their customers. But sometimes customers can be a little too passionate (or, on occasion, disgruntled) and they can make your interactions with them unpleasant. One of the worst extensions of this situation is when a customer decides to post something distasteful on your business’ official Facebook page. Thankfully, you can prepare for this ahead of time to prevent page visitors from seeing something you’d prefer them not to see.

While logged in as the admin to your Facebook page, simply visit the page, click on the “Settings” button on the white bar towards the top of your screen, and find the row that says “Visitor Posts.” Click on that rows “Edit” button and you’ll see several options. You can disable visitor posting entirely (which may limit engagement opportunities), disable the posting of photos/videos while still allowing text, or you can select “Review posts by other people before they are published to the Page.” That final option offers the best of all worlds, as it allows you to have the interactive benefits of visitor posts without the risk of an unpleasant post.

Once you’ve selected the post review option, you’ll get a standard Facebook notification every time someone wants to post to your Facebook page’s Timeline. When you click on said notification you’ll be brought to a list of pending posts that you can then approve or disapprove. You don’t need to decide right away, so you can leave posts sitting there in limbo for as long as you see fit.

Sometimes customers might find your personal page (or you might have some interesting people on your friends list), so it may be useful to make the same changes for both pages. To do so on a personal Facebook page, simply click on the drop down arrow in the top right corner of the blue Facebook bar, select “Settings,” and select the “Timeline and Tagging” section. From here you can customize who can post to your Timeline, whether or not tagged posts will show up automatically, and whether or not things need your approval. These approvals function in the same way as approvals for any page would.

Article courtesy of Compingo Marketing